You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

May 31, 2020

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw agrees formation of two new ministries

Speaker of Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: MNA

2nd Pyidaungsu Hluttaw 6th regular session 11th day meeting was held yesterday afternoon at Pyidaungsu Hluttaw meeting hall in Hluttaw building, Nay Pyi Taw.
At the meeting Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker confirmed the Myanmar Companies bill, announcing that it would be sent to the President for his signature to make the bill into law.
Next, U Zaw Thein of Wakema constituency, U Oo Hla Saw of Mrauk U constituency, Tatmadaw Pyithu Hluttaw representative Lt-Col Kyaw Tun and U Aung Thike of Seikpyu constituency discussed the matter of becoming a member country of Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) sent by the President.
In his discussion on the matter, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs U Kyaw Tin said there are many political and economic benefits for Myanmar if it becomes a member of IORA, urging the the Hluttaw to appprove it.
After seeking approval from MPs, Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker announced that the Hluttaw agreed the motion.
Afterwards, Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than announced the Hluttaw agreeing to appoint and assign the duties of Anti-Corruption Commission chairman to U Aung Kyi, secretary to U San Win and members U Soe Tint, U Aung Lwin, U Han Nyunt, Daw Myat Myat Soe, U Aung Than Myint, U Khin Maung Myint, U Myo Myint, Daw Aye Aye Mu, U Zaw Win and Daw Lei Lei Thwin that was sent by the President.
Formation of two new ministries, Ministry of the Office of the Union Government and Ministry of International Cooperation sent by the President was supported by U Soe Thane of Kayah constituency 9. Union Attorney General U Htun Htun Oo also explained the benefit of forming the two new ministries.
After obtaining the approval of the Hluttaw on formation of the two new ministries sent by the President, the Speaker announced that Pyidaungsu Hluttaw agreed establishing two new ministries.
Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker also announced further that in addition to the agreement by the Hluttaw to form the two new ministries, there was no objection to appoint U Kyaw Tin as Union Minister for International Cooperation and this appointment is confirmed and agreed by the Hluttaw.
With regards to the objection by U Soe Thane of Kayah constituency 9 on appointment of U Thaung Tun as Union Minister for the Ministry of the Office of the Union Government, the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker noted on complete evidence being not provided in the objection and announced the decision of the Hluttaw to continue with the appointment according to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw law, rule and the Constitution.
Afterwards, Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker announced the Hluttaw’s agreement on the appointment of U Thaung Tun as Union Minister for the Ministry of the Office of the Union Government.
2nd Pyidaungsu Hluttaw 6th regular session 12th day meeting will be held on the morning of 24 November.


Related posts