You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

May 25, 2020

Ceremony to honour elderly journalists

Union Minister Dr Pe Myint pays homage to elderly journalist at the ceremony to honour elderly journalists by MJA. Photo: MNA

A ceremony to pay homage and to honour elderly journalists was held for the fourth time by the Myanmar Journalists Association (MJA) yesterday morning in Yangon City Hall.
At the ceremony, MJA Chairman U Thiha Saw explained the reasons for holding the event.
Union Minister for Information Dr. Pe Myint said the honoured elderly journalists to whom homage is being paid are the people that they admired. Their actions throughout their lives, especially their conduct for newspaper and journals, are very respectable. During his youth, much was gained from repeatedly reading and studying the writings and titles of the newspapers and journals. Next-generation journalists are urged to maintain this fine tradition, said the Union Minister.
Afterwards, MJA Secretary U Kyaw Swa Min introduced the 130 elderly journalists to the attendees of the ceremony.
MJA member U Aung Thu Myaing then recited the words of homage with Dr. Pe Myint, Yangon Command commander Maj-Gen Thet Pone, MJA patron, chairman, members and ceremony attendees. Ks3 million was donated by President U Htin Kyaw for the ceremony to honour the MJA elderly journalists, which was presented by Dr. Pe Myint to MJA patron U Ko Ko.
Similarly Ks4.4 million worth of gifts donated by Tatmadaw Commander-in-Chief Senior General Min Aung Hlaing was presented by Yangon Command commander Maj-Gen Thet Pone and was accepted by MJA Vice Chairman U Myat Khaing.
Ks500,000 donated by retired President U Thein Sein and Daw Khin Khin Win, Ks1.3 million donated by Union Solidarity and Development Party steering committee member U Htay Oo and wife were presented by representatives.
Ks22.2 million worth of Skynet television receivers and licenses donated by Shwe Than Lwin company was then donated by Daw Nan Mauk Loung Sai and was accepted by MJA joint secretary (2) Daw Lat Lat Soe and treasurer Daw Ei Ei Tin.
On behalf of the honoured elderly journalists Myanmar Press Council member veteran journalists U Sein Tun Aung and MJA secretary (1) U Ye Min Oo gave speeches of appreciation.
Afterwards Union Minister Dr. Pe Myint, Yangon Command commander Maj-Gen Thet Pone, and officials from MJA presented the donated cash and gifts to the elderly journalists. The MJA was formed on 11 August 2012, and the ceremonies to honour and pay homage to elderly journalists were previously held in 2014, 2015 and 2016, when 56, 115 and 118 elderly journalists were honored, respectively.


Related posts