You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 26, 2018

THE FACE OF CHANGE — Pyidaungsu Hluttaw elects U Htin Kyaw president

president U Htin Kyaw
president U Htin Kyaw

THE Pyidaungsu Hluttaw elected  U Htin Kyaw president by vote yesterday while the other two candidates U Myint Swe and U Henry Van Thio were selected vice presidents.
U Htin Kyaw, 70,  submitted by the Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House), won the presidential election with the highest number of votes, 360, becoming the
new president for the next five-year term, followed by U Myint Swe nominated by the representatives of the Tatmadaw with 213 votes and U Henry Van Thio from the Pyithu Hluttaw with 79 votes.
President U Thein Sein sent a message to U Htin Kyaw, expressing his delight on behalf of the State and the peoples, for being elected president by Pyidaungsu Hluttaw in accordance with the constitution, adding that arrangements have been made to hand over the duty of the Head of State to him.
A total of 652 MPs from the two Houses cast their votes in the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw, chaired by Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than.
The Pyidaungsu Hluttaw will continue its session on Thursday, and the president-elect will submit a proposal for the list of ministries and the number of ministers of the incoming cabinet, according to the agenda of the Thursday session released by the parliament.
MPs are invited by the Speaker of the parliament to discuss the proposal the next day, according to the agenda.


Related posts

Translate »