You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 27, 2018

streamling the votes UEC to issue voting tickets to voters ahead of election

A woman cast advance vote at Myanmar embassy in Canberra, Australia. Photo: Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
A woman cast advance vote at Myanmar embassy in Canberra, Australia. Photo: Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

THE Union Election Commission announced that it will issue polling tickets to voters to be certified as eligible before election day on 8 November in accordance withthe Election Law.
Voters can get their tickets at ward or village sub-election commission posts from 1 to 7 November.
Eligible voters will also be able to cast their ballots on election day without tickets, according to a statement issued on Thursday.
On 19 October,the Shan Nationalities Democratic Party (SNDP) requested that the UEC suspend the election in three townships – Mongshu, Kyaythee and Tangyang– in eastern Shan State due to conflict between the Tatmadaw and local armed ethnic groups.
A follow-up letter from the SNDP, signed by the party’s general secretary Sai Hla Kyaw,requested that the UEC resume the election in the three townships once stability had been restored.
Locals said that they did not believe the election would be a free election in their areas, as they are currently displaced by the fighting.
About 790 overseas citizens cast advance votes on Wednesday.
Advance voting began on 13 October. The total number of overseas voters up to 21 October reached 22,187.
Polling stations have been established at Myanmar embassies and consulates around the world.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs sent ballots to the country’s 44 foreign embassies to offer more than 29,000 people deemed eligible to vote by the UEC the means to do so.
The UEC requested that organisations involved in the election cooperate with them in the spirit of fairness and political freedom in the upcoming election.
Advance voting in Myanmar will run from 29 October to 7 November, and those eligible to cast advance votes from inside Myanmar include political candidates, local observers, media personnel and departmental officials.


Related posts

Translate »