You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 19, 2019

Senior General Min Aung Hlaing receives UN special envoy, Malaysian Ambassador, KNU chairman separately

Senior General Min Aung Hlaing and members of the Peace Process Steering Team of NCA (Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement) signatories pose for a documentary photo in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA

Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing received UN Special Envoy to Myanmar Ms. Christine Schraner Burgener at the Bayintnaung Guesthouse in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday morning. They openly discussed collaborative efforts towards sustainable peace and anti-drug operations by the Union Government and the Tatmadaw.
The Senior General received Malaysian Ambassador Mr. Zahairi Bin Baharim at noon. They openly discussed promoting military relations between the two countries, sharing news and information, collaborating on anti-terrorism and anti-drug trafficking, conducting goodwill visits between military personnel, exchange programmes between sports teams, joint military drills and exchanging military medical expertise.
Next, the Senior General received members of the Peace Process Steering Team of NCA (Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement) signatories, led by Karen National Union (KNU) Chairman Saw Mutu Sae Poe.
During the meeting, they discussed what measures should be taken to achieve union peace and to encourage non-signatories to sign the NCA as soon as possible.
Present at the meeting with the Senior General were Deputy Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Commander-in-Chief (Army) Vice Senior General Soe Win, Chief of the General Staff (Army, Navy and Air) General Mya Tun Oo, Commander-in-Chief (Navy) Admiral Tin Aung San, Commander-in-Chief (Air) General Maung Maung Kyaw, Tatmadaw officials from the Office of the Commander-in-Chief (Army) and Lt-Gen Khin Zaw Oo (retd).
Present with the KNU Chairman were Karen Benevolent Army Chairman Saw Mo Shae, Karen National Union/Karen National Liberation Army (Peace Council) General Secretary Naw Kapaw Htoo, Chairman of the Restoration Council of Shan State/ Shan State Army U Baung Khe, Pa-O National Liberation Organization
Patron Khun Okkar, Arakan Liberation Party Vice-Chairman U Khaing Soe Naing Aung, All Burma Students’ Democratic Front Chairman U Tan Khe, Chin National Front Chairman U Pu Zin Kyone, New Mon State Party Chairman
U Naing Htaw Mon and Lahu Democratic Union Vice-Chairman U Kyar Solomon.


Related posts