You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 28, 2018

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Roundup

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw is convened in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA
Pyidaungsu Hluttaw is convened in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA

THE Second Pyidaungsu Hluttaw’s first regular session entered its 13th day, announcing the names of the proposed chairman and members of the Union Election Commission and documenting the process of renaming, forming and re-delineating the boundaries of districts, towns, wards, village tracts and villages around the country. Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than announced the renaming, extended formation, re-delineating of boundaries and abolition of towns and villages in Kayin and Shan states and Sagaing and Ayeyawady regions.
Next, the speaker informed the parliament of the nominees for the five-member Union Election Commission proposed by President-elect Htin Kyaw.
The list of the UEC nominees includes U Hla Thein, who was nominated to the chairmanship, along with U Aung Myint, U Soe Yal, U Tun Khin and U Hla Tint as members.
Then, the speaker invited parliamentarians to sign up to make objections to the nominations not later than 26 March.
The second Pyidaungsu Hluttaw is set to continue for its 14th day on 28 March.
—Myanmar News Agency


Related posts

Translate »