You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

June 23, 2018

New Development Concept includes Spiritual and Mental Well-being

With the advent of the 21st century, the developing and the underdeveloped countries of the world have come to focus on freeing themselves from the vicious circle of poverty whereas the developed are exerting effort to sustain the development they have already achieved. In this function, the United Nations Organisation, on its part, has set the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which are to be implemented between 2000 and 2015. Now with the lapse of this 15-year period, the United Nations has set the new goals called the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
Not all nations have not fully achieved the MDGs. This being so, they have to continue to implement the MDGs to the full extent while making efforts to implement the SDGs for the next 15 years. With the changing of the concept of development, the United Nations has come to think of spiritual and mental well-being in addition to material well-being, no more looking at things only from the economic aspect.
Such being the case, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are found to include spiritual and mental well-being, taking into account the quality aspect. In fact, the concept of development has come to mean promotion of the quality of life of the people.
The SDGs for 2016 to 2030 are as follows:
Goal 1.    End poverty in all its forms everywhere;
Goal 2.    End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture;
Goal 3.    Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages;
Goal 4.    Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote life-long learning opportunities for all;
Goal 5.    Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls;
Goal 6.    Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all;
Goal 7.    Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all;
Goal 8.    Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all;
Goal 9.    Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation;
Goal 10.    Reduce inequality within and among countries;
Goal 11.    Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable;
Goal 12.    Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns;
Goal 13.    Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts;
Goal 14.    Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development;
Goal 15.    Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss;
Goal 16.    Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels; and
Goal 17.    Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalise the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development.
It is found that the SDGs are very ambitious, calling for broader activities in order that equal development can be ascertained. There are 17 goals, 169 targets and more than 250 indices to measure the development. These goals are to be incorporated into national development plans – short term and long term. It is incumbent upon all citizens as well as all stakeholders to participate in implementation of these 17 goals. The Global New Light of Myanmar, therefore, would like urge all citizens and stakeholders to direct their effort towards the achievement of these goals.


Related posts

Translate »