June 29, 2017

Breaking News

Hiri, Ottappa and Seven Deadly Sins

It is said that hiri and ottappa are the two dhammas (laws) that govern the world according to Buddhism; the former suggesting shame, modesty, the shame which deters a man from commitment of sins whereas the latter, fear for commitment of sins. Nowadays, people regardless of race and religion are more and more daring to commit sins that can ultimately lead to outbreak of crimes. This is an act of recklessness and hardness of heart or an act of anottapa in Pali. Another act that is degrading the world is ahirika or shamelessness, which can be attributed to decadent culture and lack of self esteem in compensation for promotion of material well-being.
It is worth quoting the bible here, in this juncture, as saying, “We are all sinners”. In my opinion, this is the reason why Jesus Christ has come into the world to save the sinners. According to the bible, there are seven deadly sins or the capital vices or cardinal sins: lust; gluttony; greed; laziness; wrath; envy and pride. Again, sins can be divided into two types: sin of commission – i.e. a sinful action; and sin of omission i.e. a sinful failure to perform an action.
In this regard, one has to atone for one’s sins according to the law of nature or dhamma. This being so, if one commits a crime, and is found guilty and has a sentence passed upon him, he has to atone for his sin, doing the rigorous labor in a correctional facility, wasting his precious time. To be able to avoid serving the time, people should be shameful and fearful of doing the evil things.
In this function, the Global New Light of Myanmar would like to remind everybody to strictly abide by the law and urge the authorities to further enforce the rule of law, to conduct more educational campaigns to promote awareness of the evil consequences of law-breaking and to curb harder the entertainment industry, which is very often the root cause of outbreak of crimes from misdemeanours to felonies.


Related posts

Translate »