You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 28, 2018

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Senior General discuss ways to move peace process forward

DSC_8743 72State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and Commander-in-Chief of Defense Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing held talks yesterday on ways to push forward the country’s peace process.
During the meeting at a hall of the President’s Office in Nay Pyi Taw, they discussed matters related to ending armed conflicts in Kachin State and northern Shan State, national reconciliation, internal peace, stability and the rule of law and holding the Union Peace Conference—21st Century Panglong.
Also present were Deputy Commander-in-Chief of Defense Services Commander-in-Chief (Army) Vice Senior General Soe Win, Union Minister Lt-Gen Ye Aung, Attorney-General of the Union U Tun Tun Oo, Chairman of Peace Commission Dr Tin Myo Win, Lt-Gen Mya Tun Oo of the Office of Commander-in-Chief (Army) and Judge Advocate-General Lt-Gen Soe Htut.
Before the meeting with General Min Aung Hlaing, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi announced that the 21st Century Union Peace Conference will kick off on 31 August. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi is the chairperson of the Central Committee for holding the Union Peace Conference-21st Century Panglong. Speaking on the occasion to the committee, she emphasized the need for continued coordination on preparatory works being carried out by the government side.
The meeting of the Central Committee was held at the Presidential Palace in Nay Pyi Taw. During the meeting, those present reported on progress in preparations for holding the conference and work to be done by respective committees.
The meeting was attended by the Union ministers, central committee and working committee members and officials.

Union Peace Conference — 21st Century Panglong set to kick off on 31 August
The Central Committee on holding the 21st Century Union Peace Conference was formed on 3 August with the release of Notification 57/2016 by the President’s Office, comprising the State Counsellor as chairperson, Union Minister U Kyaw Tint Swe as vice chairman, the Union ministers and deputy ministers as members, Deputy Minister U Khin Maung Tin as secretary and Retired Lt-Gen U Khin Zaw Oo and Director-General U Zaw Than Thin of the Union Government Office as joint secretaries.
Under the Central Committee, Working Committees led by the Union ministers and deputy ministers were also formed with departmental officials.—Myanmar News Agency


Related posts

Translate »