September 19, 2017

Amyotha Hluttaw approves, forms parliamentary committees

Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: MNA
Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: MNA

THE Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) held its seventh day session yesterday, approving and proposing parliamentary committees.
Speaker of the Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than announced parliamentary approval of the formation of the Ethnic Affairs Committee chaired by Daw Shila Nan Taung alias M Nan Taung of Kachin State Constituency, the Farmer Affairs Committee by U Ba Myo Thein and the Women and Children’s Rights Committee by Dr Mya Thaung, with 15 members each.  Next, the Speaker proposed the Education Promotion Committee, the Local and Overseas Employment Committee and Citizens’ Fundamental Rights, the Democracy and Human Rights Committee to be formed with 15 members each, announcing the list of chairmen and secretaries.
Dr Win Myat Aye of Bago Region Constituency 7, U Kyaw Htwe of Yangon Region Constituency 8 and Dr Htay Kywe of Yangon Region Constituency 1were named chairmen of the proposed three committees respectively.
The second Amyotha Hluttaw’s first regular session continues for its eighth day today. — Myanmar News Agency


Related posts

Translate »