You can read daily news of Global New Light of Myanmar using mobile applications. Download now!

February 19, 2019

-2nd Pyidaungsu Hluttaw’s 8th regular session holds ninth-day meeting

Pyidaungsu Hluttaw being convened in Nay Pyi Taw. Photo: MNA

At the ninth-day meeting of the second Pyidaungsu Hluttaw’s eighth regular session held yesterday morning, the Hluttaw made a decision on the second amendment of the Public Servant Bill and Explosive Material Bill, and the Hluttaw representatives discussed the Revenue Appellate Tribunal Bill.

Hluttaw decision on two bills
At the meeting, based on the bill committee’s remarks, the decision of the Hluttaw on the second amendment of the Public Servant Bill, sent back with remarks from the President, and the Explosive Material Bill were obtained section by section, and the approval of the Hluttaw was announced.

Discussion on Revenue Appellate Tribunal Bill
Next, the Revenue Appellate Tribunal Bill, sent by
the union government, was discussed by the Hluttaw representatives.
Dr. Khun Win Thaung of Kachin State constituency (11) discussed changing the name of the bill and U Myo Win of Mon State constituency (8) discussed setting the term of the tribunal to three years instead of five. The bill was also discussed by U Soe Thein @ U Maung Soe of Taninthayi Region constituency (10).
The Pyidaungsu Hluttaw speaker said the discussion on the bill included amendments and additions to the bills, and it would be more appropriate for the joint bill committee, and if necessary, joint public accounts committee, relevant union-level organisations and the Hluttaw representatives to coordinate and discuss to obtain better amendments.
The Pyidaungsu Hluttaw speaker announced that if necessary, the bill committee would explain it further and the approval by section will be conducted in the forthcoming Pyidaungsu Hluttaw meeting.

Discussion on National Education Policy Commission report
Later, a report on the work conducted by the National Education Policy Commission during the six-month period (2017 October to 2018 April) was discussed by Hluttaw representatives Dr. Thet Thet Khaing of Dagon constituency, Dr Hla Moe of Aungmyay Tharzan constituency, U Kyaw Naing of Yangon Region constituency (12), Dr. Than Aung Soe of Minhla constituency, Dr. Than Win of Mandalay Region constituency (1), U Min Thein of Taungdwingyi constituency, U Sein Han of Kanma constituency, U Tin Tun Naing of Seikkyi Khanaungto constituency and Dr. Tin Tin Win of Bago Region constituency (5).


Myo Myint, Hmwe Kyu Zin (MNA)


Related posts